About Us

Vision

We want to end the abuse suffered by every child victim who walks through our door.

Mission

It is our mission to place the needs of the child first in an investigation for abuse.

Value Statement

As an agency, as employees, as volunteers and as directors of the Child Advocacy Center’s board, we:

  • value integrity, honesty, compassion, respect and continual self-improvement;
  • are committed to abused and neglected children and recognize the significant responsibilities we undertake on their behalf;
  • consider each child unique and valuable with different needs;
  • employ ethical, resourceful, creative and evidence-based means to meet the needs of each child;
  • believe that educating others about child abuse is an integral part of our challenge.

Staying true to our mission, every decision we consider will be tested by two questions:

  • “Is this decision good for kids?”
  • “Are we making this decision for the right reasons?”

History

Child Advocacy Center Building

Prior to 1995, the pain of child abuse didn't end after the physical act. A verbal battery would follow as young victims were subjected to numerous interviews with social, legal and law enforcement agencies. The child would be repeatedly asked to share the painful details of the abuse in an effort to learn the facts and circumstances surrounding the situation. While well intentioned, the exhausting process guaranteed further emotional trauma to the young victim.

In 1995, a small group of concerned professionals and community leaders met to consider a better, more sensitive way to respond to children who had been battered or sexually abused. These individuals envisioned a place where hurting children would have a safe, easy place to talk about difficult, frightening experiences. Out of this commitment and concern, the Child Advocacy Center was created.

The CAC now has two locations. Our original center is located in an inviting, older home on historic Walnut Street in Springfield, Mo. In 2011 we added a satellite center on Garfield Ave. in West Plains, Mo. Operating the satellite center allows us to better serve children and families in south central Missouri. Collectively, both locations cover our 16-county service area and provide the same, coordinated approach to an investigation for sexual and physical abuse. Our staff, with law enforcement and Children’s Division investigators, form a team that collectively makes decisions about the investigation, treatment and prosecution of each child abuse case.

Our Staff, Springfield

Barbara Brown
Executive Director
barbara@childadvocacycenter.org

Brenda Brown
Office Manager
brenda@childadvocacycenter.org

Jessica Clayton
Child Advocate
jessica@childadvocacycenter.org

Judy Cline
Executive Assistant
judy@childadvocacycenter.org

Morgan Galloway
Forensic Interviewer
morgan@childadvocacycenter.org

Kim Grimm
Program Manager
kim@childadvocacycenter.org

Amy Hathcock
Child Advocate
amy@childadvocacycenter.org

Shawna Hawkins
Medical Assistant/Child Advocate
shawna@childadvocacycenter.org

Micki Lane
Outreach Coordinator
micki@childadvocacycenter.org

Linda Regan
Development Director
linda@childadvocacycenter.org

Angie Routh
Administrative Assistant
angie@childadvocacycenter.org

Kathy Smith
Development Associate
kathy@childadvocacycenter.org

Kim Stewart
Forensic Interviewer
kims@childadvocacycenter.org

Michelle Ward
Administrative Assistant
michelle@childadvocacycenter.org

Ashley Weaver
Forensic Interviewer
ashley@childadvocacycenter.org

Patricia Webb
Medical Provider
patricia@childadvocacycenter.org

Amy Weber
Child Advocate
amyw@childadvocacycenter.org

 

Our Staff, West Plains

Tina Ahad
Forensic Interviewer
tina@childadvocacycenter.org

Samantha Jarrett
Child Advocate/Medical Assistant
samantha@childadvocacycenter.org

Celeste Williams
Medical Provider
celeste@childadvocacycenter.org

 
  • Board Members
  • Board Members
  • Board Members
  • Board Members
  • Board Members
  • Board Members
  • Board Members
  • Board Members

Board of Directors 2014

  • President
    Dot Atkinson, Community Volunteer, Mercy Health
  • Vice-President
    Jonathan Baltzell, Jack Henry & Associates
  • Treasurer
    Jean Nyberg, BKD
  • Secretary
    Sydney Guilliams, Community Volunteer
  • Tracy Barnas, UMB
  • Kara Crockett, Community Volunteer
  • Cody Danastasio, Green Circle Projects
  • Jeff Dennis, Dennis Oil
  • Dianna Devore, Design Fabrication
  • Paula Dougherty, Ameriprise Financial Services
  • Craig Dunn, Metropolitan National Bank
  • Dave Dyer, SRC
  • Mary Ann Greene, Community Volunteer
  • Brooke Griesemer, Community Volunteer
  • Conrad Griggs, Bank of Missouri
  • Jeff Hammock, State Farm Insurance
  • Jane Ann Johnson, Community Volunteer
  • Julie Leeth, Community Foundation of the Ozarks
  • Brent McCoy, Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce
  • Laura Meek, Community Volunteer
  • Dan Patterson, Greene County Prosecutor
  • Peggy Pearl, retired, Missouri State University
  • Kristen Roubal, Community Volunteer
  • Bonnie Shackter, Community Volunteer
  • Elizabeth Wente, Husch Blackwell

Young Advocates Council 2014

  • President
    Stephanie Shadwick, nForm Architects
  • Vice-President
    Lauren Sawyer, Sawyer Counseling, LLC
  • Administrator
    Crystal Sharp, Commerce Bank
  • Burgers and Cheers Committee Chair
    Laine Scholz, Garbo’s Pizzeria & Haley Gillespie, Murney Associates
  • Awareness Committee Chair
    Carlee Brown, Cerner Corporation
  • Fundraising Committee Chair
    John Sims, Pulaski Banke
  • Colleen Boulware, Commerce Bank
  • Michelle Brown, Heart of America
  • Danielle Clay, nForm Architects
  • Becky Conroy, Catholic Campus Ministry
  • Becky Darrow, SRC
  • John Darrow, Ozark Bank
  • Marshall Kinne, Med-Pay, Inc.
  • Laura McBride, Missouri State University
  • Jessica Pearson, BKD
  • Laine Scholz, Garbo’s Pizzeria
  • John Schulte, John Q. Hammons Hotels
  • Amber Sims, Kosma Mobile Xray
  • Winter Skelton, Community Foundation of the Ozarks
  • Deena Williams, DFG Insurance
  • Jessie Tindall, Commerce Bank
  • Travis Tindall, nForm Architecture
  • Joe Williams, Missouri State University

Media

CAC Case Statement

Brochures

Newsletters

Annual Report

CAC Statistics

Form 990

Logo

Click each logo to obtain high resolution versions.

 

Missouri Child Abuse Hotline - 1-800-392-3738